Today I began the 4th week of a Technology in Education class, the third of ten classes that I will take with Walden University to earn an MSEd. I’m feeling proud of the products that I’ve made for this class so far: This blog, a Twitter account, a Diigo social bookmarking account. This week I will create a wiki. Wouldn’t my students feel proud to create tech-based products? Is pride something to plan for in lessons? I think yes.

I love this definition of pride from Dictionary.com:

a high or inordinate opinion of one’s own dignity, importance, merit, or superiority, whether as cherished in the mind or as displayed in bearing, conduct, etc.

I want this for my students, for them to cherish their importance, their own dignity, in their minds, and especially in their conduct! So I will set them up for success.

My lesson plans include many opportunities for my young learners to be proud of their products. Over the next month, my students will learn to micro blog on Twitter and use social bookmarking to research ancient Central and South American civilizations. Then they’ll create a Google Slide presentation on their research. I expect every one to stand a little taller as they share their work with not just the class, but the world, really, in Mrs. Diaz’s Virtual Classroom.

Applying 21st century skills in these ways is new to me. I’ll keep you posted as events occur!

Leave a Reply

